My first attempt at a template, from scratch

I came across this little box for smoked almonds and was flattening it to put in the recycling and I thought, Hey, this would be easy enough to make…maybe a little window in the front…this could be super cute! I wrestled with Apple Works a little and lo and behold, I finally came up with a template that actually turns into something!

dsc_11011

dsc_1098

[Please excuse the less-than-stellar photos.]

Supplies: Papertrey Ink (Raspberry Fizz cardstock, Heart Prints stamps, Dark Chocolate Swiss Dot ribbon, transparency from a stamp set), Cuttlebug Tiny Tags die, Swiss Dot embossing folder and EK Success medium heart punch…and my template: treatbox1

This was my first model. It’s certainly easy enough to dress it up more. I love the potential!

(I had some trouble getting dotted lines, so the score lines are more gray than dotted. The cut lines are the heavier black ones. The optional window is, well, pretty obvious. I was thinking that next time I’d try one of the Spellbinders Label One dies for the window. I think that might look sharp!)

Thanks for looking…and enjoy!

7 responses to “My first attempt at a template, from scratch

  1. It works! Seriously? You made that template in Apple Works? What are you? Crazy??? The box is super cute, though.

  2. Thank you so much! I look forward to creating tomorrow. How did you create such a cute template in Appleworks? I would love to try.

  3. LOVE this!!!! thanks so much for sharing, i’ve been looking for a box like this :))))

  4. Hi, found you through Papertrey – love your blog – box looks fab!!

  5. Thanks for sharing your template. It looks great! Generous!

  6. that is so CUTE! Thanks for sharing it with us!!! So cant wait to try it!!!!

  7. thanks for the awesome class! you are so good!

Leave a Reply

